Skip to Main Content

Communication and Information Technologies: Journals & Databases

Introduction

This guide will make it easier for you to access the library's print and online journals & databases related to your subject areas. It also contains information and instructions on the services offered by the library on how to use these resources. You can use the subject guides and "information literacy guide" to find licensed and free print or electronic resources and make your research more efficient.

Where to Start Your Search?

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.

ODTÜ Library subscribes to a large range of journals electronically. Search by title using E-Journals Search

If an electronic version is not available, we may have it in print copy. Search print copies of journals by title using Library Catalog Search

Search millions of articles, e-books, and digital collections, etc. using METUnique Search

Citation Searching

Citation searching (finding out which articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Science or for articles published after 1996 on Scopus.

Find Articles From Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Search Tips

Databases are provided on different interfaces. Most of them support the following functions:

  • Advanced Search screen provides options for combining your keywords.
  • Combine keywords using appropriate Boolean Operators (drop down menu):
    • AND - to combine/narrow down; OR - to broaden; NOT - to exclude terms.
  • Use synonyms, alternative terms, phrases and variations in spelling.
  • Use truncation at the end of your term (*) to find variations of your search term
  • If you want words to appear next to each other in an exact phrase, use quotation marks (" ")
  • You can specify how close two words appear together in your search strategy. This can make your results more relevant; generally the closer two words appear to each other, the closer the relationship is between them. Commands for adjacency searching differ among databases, so make sure you consult database guides.
  • Use citation searching to find articles that have been cited by other publications. You can use cited reference searching in:
  • Refine results by subjects, controlled vocabulary, publication year ...
  • Select/Mark relevant references and display results.
  • Save, E-mail or Export selected references.

 

Journal Stacks Request

Print periodicals published before 2013 are kept in the archive. The periodicals which have an electronic version are not brought from the archive. Please check the periodical on the e-journals page if it is available in the electronic version. If the periodical does not have the electronic version, please check the periodical on the Library Catalog page if it is available in the printed version. Fill in the  Journal Stacks Request Form accurately, otherwise, your request will not be met. Also, if you have any problem with the periodical request, you can contact the telephone number 3619.

Recommend a New Electronic Journal or Database Subscription

If you wish to suggest a subscription to a new electronic journal or a database for the Library, please kindly fill out the form.

Translate This Page