Skip to main content

Physics: Reference

About Reference Materials

Print reference collection which are statistics, maps, atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographic resources, biographic resources, guides, university catalogs, standards, almanacs, anthologies, and masters theses and dissertations, are located at the entrance of the Library.

Reference materials cannot be borrowed and only used in library.

Also library provides online resources.

Key E-Reference Databases

Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective: 1913-1983    

An archive index covering important historical scientific studies and discoveries between 1913 and 1983. Indexing and citations include book reviews and the complete files of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957).

Dissertations and Theses  

With more than 2.3 million entries, PQDT is the database of record for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. Over 60,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Database spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

Open Dissertations (American Doctoral Dissertations)    

Providing access to the only comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period from 1902 to present, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. 

ProQuest Databases    

Is a collection of multidisciplinary databases that provide mostly fulltext Access.

Scopus

Includes bibliographic information & abstracts  about physics, chemistry, mathematics, engineering, social sciences, psychology, economy, biology, agriculture and environment sciences and applied science.

Web of Science

Citation databases allow identification of the number of times a particular work or author is cited in the literature.   

The Web of Science interface provides online access to the following databases:

• Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present)
• Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1980-present)
• Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)
• Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)