STEP 1 : Define
Your supervisor will probably suggest a topic to you for assignments and theses. If, however, you are allowed to choose your topic, take note of the following:
→ It could be any development that you notice or want to explore during lectures or in the media.
→ Make sure there is enough literature and data for your topic.
→ Make sure your topic is not too broad or narrow.
→ Determine the research method that best suits your chosen topic.
The research question is the centerpiece and focus of your paper. It is a declaration of what you want to find out – it refines your topic and forms the basis of your paper.
Recap:
→ Decide on the research question before (!) you start writing.
→ A good question saves you a lot of work. It helps you write the outline and search for literature.
→ Chose an open question that cannot be answered with a plain Yes or No. Phrase it clearly and precisely so that you can develop an answer in the course of your paper.
→ Describe your research question in your introduction: What it is, why it is relevant, how you will answer it. It announces the “agenda” of your paper.
→ Your paper should only contain matter that relates to finding an answer to your question. Avoid digressions.
→ Use relevant subject terms for your literature search, and add geographical terms if needed.
→ Also, consider synonyms so that you will not miss important results.
→ Examine relevant abstracts or articles for alternative words, phrases, and subject headings.
Books
You can get more information in the Books tabs at the subject guides. This guides will make it easier for you to access the library's print and online books related to your subject areas. It also contains information and instructions on the services offered by the library on how to use these resources.
Journal and Databases
You can find more information in the Journal & Databases tabs at the subject guides. This guides will make it easier for you to access the library's print and online journals & databases related to your subject areas. It also contains information and instructions on the services offered by the library on how to use these resources.
Thesis & Dissertations
You can find more information in the Thesis & Dissertations tabs at the subject guides. This guides will make it easier for you to access the library's print and online thesis & dissertations related to your subject areas. It also contains information and instructions on the services offered by the library on how to use these resources.
Technical Reports & Patents
You can find more information in the Technical Reports & Patents tabs at the subject guides. This guides will make it easier for you to access technical reports & patents related to your subject areas.
Useful Links
You can find more information in the Useful Links tabs at the subject guides. This guides contains open courses and resources we have compiled related to your subject areas.
You can also find information about how to use these resources from Open Access, Training, Keeping-Up-To-Date, and Plagiarism tabs at the subject guides.