Skip to Main Content

Philosophy: Journals & Databeses & Multimedia

Where to Start Your Search?

Library Search

Search for textbooks, ebooks, journals, articles + more.

ODTÜ Library subscribes to a large range of journals electronically. Search by title using E-Journals Search

If an electronic version is not available, we may have it in print copy. Search print copies of journals by title using Library Catalog Search

Search millions of articles, e-books, and digital collections, etc. using METUnique Search

Citation Searching

Citation searching (finding out which articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Science or for articles published after 1996 on Scopus.

Find Articles From Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Search Tips

Databases are provided on different interfaces. Most of them support the following functions:

  • Advanced Search screen provides options for combining your keywords.
  • Combine keywords using appropriate Boolean Operators (drop down menu):
    • AND - to combine/narrow down; OR - to broaden; NOT - to exclude terms.
  • Use synonyms, alternative terms, phrases and variations in spelling.
  • Use truncation at the end of your term (*) to find variations of your search term
  • If you want words to appear next to each other in an exact phrase, use quotation marks (" ")
  • You can specify how close two words appear together in your search strategy. This can make your results more relevant; generally the closer two words appear to each other, the closer the relationship is between them. Commands for adjacency searching differ among databases, so make sure you consult database guides.
  • Use citation searching to find articles that have been cited by other publications. You can use cited reference searching in:
  • Refine results by subjects, controlled vocabulary, publication year ...
  • Select/Mark relevant references and display results.
  • Save, E-mail or Export selected references.

 

Most Popular Journals

Journal Title

Total Cites

Journal Impact Factor

5-Year Impact Factor

SOCIAL STUDIES OF SCIENCE

3,470

2.464

3.785

AGRICULTURE AND HUMAN VALUES

2,332

2.568

3.348

PUBLIC UNDERSTANDING OF SCIENCE

2,382

2.452

2.880

BRITISH JOURNAL FOR THE PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE

1,552

2.053

2.188

MINERVA

939

1.784

1.873

SCIENCE AS CULTURE

548

1.196

1.539

PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE

3,156

0.973

1.435

BIOLOGY & PHILOSOPHY

1,034

1.311

1.336

Medicine Health Care and Philosophy

818

1.407

1.315

NEW GENETICS AND SOCIETY

329

1.571

1.300

ISIS

1,426

1.070

1.297

Social Epistemology

347

0.316

1.215

OSIRIS

479

0.875

1.074

JOURNAL OF THE HISTORY OF BIOLOGY

585

0.953

1.039

SYNTHESE

3,479

1.034

1.013

NanoEthics

238

0.950

0.981

BULLETIN OF THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE

608

0.750

0.948

STUDIES IN HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF SCIENCE

988

0.748

0.948

Biosemiotics

200

1.527

0.915

ARCHIVE FOR HISTORY OF EXACT SCIENCES

376

0.583

0.886

HYLE

72

0.800

0.844

MEDICAL HISTORY

630

0.867

0.802

HISTORY OF SCIENCE

504

0.795

0.713

BRITISH JOURNAL FOR THE HISTORY OF SCIENCE

460

0.409

0.697

HISTORY OF THE HUMAN SCIENCES

507

0.351

0.695

SCIENCE IN CONTEXT

356

0.366

0.684

SOCIAL HISTORY OF MEDICINE

440

0.473

0.654

JOURNAL OF THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE AND ALLIED SCIENCES

373

0.500

0.633

TECHNOLOGY AND CULTURE

710

0.493

0.608

Historical Studies in the Natural Sciences

122

0.700

0.552

ANNALS OF SCIENCE

356

0.405

0.538

Engineering Studies

110

0.217

0.519

CENTAURUS

140

0.111

0.494

HISTORY AND PHILOSOPHY OF THE LIFE SCIENCES

230

0.559

0.468

Imago Mundi-The International Journal for the History of Cartography

167

0.231

0.365

PHYSICS IN PERSPECTIVE

81

0.625

0.364

HISTORIA MATHEMATICA

307

0.267

0.343

History of Geo- and Space Sciences

18

0.294

0.340

AGRICULTURAL HISTORY

355

0.225

0.296

Dynamis

136

0.314

0.258

Nuncius-Journal of the History of Science

69

0.229

0.250

Berichte zur Wissenschaftsgeschichte

50

0.188

0.150

ARCHIVES OF NATURAL HISTORY

129

0.082

0.121

Philosophy Ethics and Humanities in Medicine

204

1.222

Not Available

 

2017 JCR Social Science Edition -History & Philosophy Of Science  , Ranking is based on Impact Factor

Recommend a New Electronic Journal or Database Subscription

If you wish to suggest a subscription to a new electronic journal or a database for the Library, please kindly fill out the form.

Journal Stacks Request

Print periodicals published before 2013 are kept in the archive. The periodicals which have an electronic version are not brought from the archive. Please check the periodical on the e-journals page if it is available in the electronic version. If the periodical does not have the electronic version, please check the periodical on the Library Catalog page if it is available in the printed version. Fill in the  Journal Stacks Request Form accurately, otherwise, your request will not be met. Also, if you have any problem with the periodical request, you can contact the telephone number 3619.

Translate This Page