Skip to main content

Sports: Books

New Arrivals

Finding Books

LC Classification - Sports

GV557-1198.995 Sports

GV711 Coaching

GV712-725 Athletic contests. Sports events

GV733-734.5 Professionalism in sports.

GV735 Umpires. Sports officiating

GV743-749 Athletic and sporting goods  

GV750-770.27 Air sports

GV770.3-840 Water sports

GV840.7-857 Winter sports

GV861-1017 Ball games

GV1020-1034 Automobile travel

GV1040-1060.4 Cycling. Bicycling. Motorcycling

 

The sports hall of fame encyclopedia : baseball, basketball, football, hockey, soccer

   In 1936, the Baseball Hall of Fame was established to honor the legends of the sport. The first inductees were some of the greatest names of the dugout, including Ty Cobb and Babe Ruth. Less than ten years later, in 1945, the Hockey Hall of Fame inducted its first members. The Soccer Hall of Fame was established in 1950, followed by the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1959, and the Football Hall of Fame in 1963. In all, more than 1,400 inductees-players, teams, and behind the scenes personnel-have been enshrined in these five halls of fame.

Encyclopedia of extreme sports

The 81 entries in this encyclopedia chronicle the development and practice of 40 sporting activities that offer an athlete a higher degree of danger and personal expression than traditional sports. The author also relates the career of 19 prominent extreme athletes, describes five major competitions, and explores the psychology of risk, children and sports injuries, video games, and the role of sponsorships. Both black and white photographs and color photographs are provided along with a timeline of extreme sports. Annotation ©2009 Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Sports ethics : a reference handbook

Surveys ethical problems in modern American and international sports. Discusses youth leagues and professionals, role models, racism, substance abuse, mass media, antitrust laws, and labor and management relations. Includes biographical sketches of key figures, a chronology, and excerpts of significant documents, as well as a directory of organizations and print and nonprint resources. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Reference Books

  • Directory of psychological tests in the sport and exercise sciences / edited by Andrew C. Ostrow.
  • Beden eğitimi ve sporda temel kavramlar sözlüğü : sportif tıbbi sosyal terimler / Murat Şahin.
  • Webster's sports dictionary.
  • Handbook of sports and recreational building design / edited by Geraint John and Helen Heard
  • Sports and the physically challenged : an encyclopedia of people, events, and organizations / Linda Mastandrea and Donna Czubernat ; foreword by Ann Cody

World sports encyclopedia

The World Sports Encyclopedia is a unique publication compiling, for the first time in history, more than 3,000 sport disciplines and sporting games from around the world. It features all popular Olympic and international sports, a great multitude of historical sports, traditional sports, sports for the disabled, extreme sports, regional sports, indigenous sports, and new extravagant sports. Entries include basic information about the sports, rules, equipment, history, origins, governing bodies, and even etymology of the name.

Dictionary of the sport and exercise sciences

Clear, up-to-date definitions of terms from nine subdisciplines of the sport and exercise sciences--adapted physical education, biomechanics, exercise physiology (including the areas of body composition and cardiac rehabilitation), motor control, motor development, motor learning, sport pedagogy, sport psychology, and sport sociology. Annotation copyrighted by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR