Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology: Keeping Up-to-Date

This guide is for sociology research.

Search Alerts

Many bibliographic databases allow you to set search alerts that will automatically inform you of new publications issued on interest topics.

To set up a search alert you will normally have to take 4 steps:

  1. Set up a personal account on the database you wish to use, this will allow you to save searches and alerts.
  2. Create your search and run it to check the results.
  3. Save the search as an alert.
  4. Set up the details of the alert by indicating how you would like to receive the alert (via E-mail or RSS feed) and with what frequency.

Ebsco Databases

Proquest Databases

Google Scholar

Citation Alerts

Citation alerts can be set to automatically notify you when a particular research article or conference paper is cited by a new publication appearing in a bibliographic database.

Want to know who is citing you?

Some databases also allow you to set up citation alerts to an author rather than a single publication. You can use citation alerting to help you keep track of who is citing your own work. Citation alerts can be set up on scientific literature databases such as SCOPUS and Web of Science.

Web of Science: Search Alerts

Translate This Page