Introduction
Reference services are directing users to library resources and services to ensure effective use of library resources. In this context, reference services are provided face to face, by phone or e-mail, and through user training. Please call (+90.312)210 27 93 or send an e-mail to lib-hot-line@metu.edu.tr for reference services.
ODTÜ Library has a reference collection containing statistics, maps, atlases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographic and biographic resources, guides, standards, almanacs, anthologies. Also, there are master and doctoral dissertations made in ODTÜ in the collection. Reference materials cannot be borrowed and only be used in the Library.
M E N D E L E Y
Researchers and students around the world are turning to
reference management software, such as Mendeley, to manage
their citations and organize their work. With more than 1.5 million
users Mendeley has rapidly transformed the academic research
landscape, creating a unique, user-led environment that
encourages and facilitates collaboration among peers. If your
library is debating the best way to participate, contribute and add
value to the digital workflow of research, Mendeley Institutional
Edition is the opportunity you’ve been waiting for.
Please visit Mendeley Libguide for further information here.
How to manage your resources?
You must always carefully cite the sources you are using in your papers, essays and theses. That is why it is of most importance that you note down precisely which sources you are using, right from the start of your research. Note down the exact title description and page number of the source you are using. You must also indicate when you are using a particular passage literally (citation) and when you are rephrasing a passage in your own words (paraphrasing). You can manage your literature in various ways:
- Make a list of all publications you have used for your paper, essay or thesis in a Word document or a Google Docs document
- Save physical sources, such as print-outs of journal articles
- Use special software to save references to the literature, such as Mendeley, Endnote or Zotero
E-Reference Databases
- Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
- Dissertations and Theses
- Ebrary Reference Books
- Espacenet
- Genamics JournalSeek
- International Encyclopedia of Communication
- Intihal.net
- ISI Emerging Markets - EMIS
- OECD iLibrary
- Open Dissertations (American Doctoral Dissertations)
- OpenDOAR - Directory of Open Access Repositories
- ProQuest Databases
- Scitech Connect
- Scopus
- Statista
- The World Bank
- Web of Science
- World Bank Data Catalog
Intihal.net
Intihal.net software is comprehensive content about evaluating scholarly publications. Accessing the software ODTU members must apply with an institutional email address to the program. A librarian will approve accounts.
