Print BooksE-BooksFree E-BooksForms
Print JournalsE-Journals & Databases
Benefits of Open AccessAuthor Rights
This is the "ABOUT PHILOSOPHY" page of the "Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Feb 21, 2017 URL: http://libguides.lib.metu.edu.tr/content.php?pid=379974 Print Guide RSS Updates

ABOUT PHILOSOPHY Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WELCOME !!

Welcome to Middle East Technical University Library subject guide for Philosophy. This guide was created for assiting your researches in this area. 

Please don't forget, the guide is still work in progress and I strongly appreciate your comments and suggestions.

Contact me  tozcelik@metu.edu.tr

 

How to use this guide?

This guide is created for giving you some startpoints for your research in Philosophy area. 

About Philosophy Tab, has the general information about Philosophy.

Access Books Tab, has four sub-tabs including print books, e-books, free e-books and forms. Print books, will help you with catalog search and there is  also a tutorial about it. You can find Library New-arrivals Section, aswell. E-books sub-tab includes informations about e-book and e-book databases. Free e-books, will help you to find free online resources for fulltext e-books. And Forms has various forms for METU Library services.

Access Journals Tab, will help you to find articles via e-journals and online databases. There is also two sub-tabs under here. Under Print Journals, there is a whole list of METU Library print journals about Philosophy. Print journals search engine ready to use. E-Journals includes links to online databases and e-journals. It is also possible to use METUnique Search. 

Access Reference Tab, will help you to find reference resources and tools for writing a paper. There are also some print reference materials, aswell.

Access Dissertations Tab, has a whole list of METU Thesis in Philosophy area. You can also search ProQuest database and retrieve the open-access thesis. 

Access Web Sites Tab, will inform you which sites are lead in the fields of Philosophy. There are also links for METU Philosophy Department and the research groups.

Open Access Tab, is giving the general idea of open access. There are two sub-tabs explaining benefits of open-access and author rights. 

 

Definition of Philosophy

The study of the most general and abstract features of the world and categories with which we think: mind, matter, reason, proof, truth, etc. In philosophy, the concepts with which we approach the world themselves become the topic of enquiry. A philosophy of a discipline such as history, physics, or law seeks not so much to solve historical, physical, or legal questions, as to study the concepts that structure such thinking, and to lay bare their foundations and presuppositions. In this sense philosophy is what happens when a practice becomes self-conscious. The borderline between such ‘second-order’ reflection, and ways of practising the first-order discipline itself, is not always clear: philosophical problems may be tamed by the advance of a discipline, and the conduct of a discipline may be swayed by philosophical reflection. At different times there has been more or less optimism about the possibility of a pure or ‘first’ philosophy, taking an a priori standpoint from which other intellectual practices can be impartially assessed and subjected to logical evaluation and correction. The contemporary spirit of the subject is hostile to any such possibility, and prefers to see philosophical reflection as continuous with the best practice of any field of intellectual enquiry.

New Databases

1-Cumhuriyet Newspaper Archive

Cumhuriyet Newspaper Archive includes Cumhuriyet Newspaper’s all contents from 1930 to present.

Archival access is only possible in the campus . Database content only available in Turkish.

2-MasterFILE Complete

  Business, health, education, fitness, sports and leisure, personal finance, general science, multicultural issues, fashion.

3-Newspaper Source Plus

This database provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content.

1,200+ full-text newspapers

News from 130 news bulletins

Nearly 67 million full-text articles

4-Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

This archival database is the  reference for discovering important historical scientific studies, exploring controversies, finding papers by innovators, and researching the development of technologies between 1913 and 1983. Indexing and citations include book reviews and the complete files of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957).

5-OSA Journals

Database contains Applied Optics, from 2007 to present

Journal of the Optical Society of Amer .A,
from 2007 to present
Journal of the Optical Society of Amer .B  from 2007 o present
Advances in Optıcs and Photonics 2017- journals,

 

 

Philosophy

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip