Welcome to Middle East Technical University Library subject guide for Economics. This guide was created for assiting your researches in this area.
Please don't forget, the guide is still work in progress and I strongly appreciate your comments and suggestions.
Contact me firstname.lastname@example.org
How to Use This Guide?
This guide is created for giving you some startpoints for your research in economics area.
About Economics Tab, has the general information about economics.
Access Books Tab, has four sub-tabs including print books, e-books, free e-books and forms. Print books, will help you with catalog search and there is also a tutorial about it. You can find Library New-arrivals Section, aswell. E-books sub-tab includes informations about e-book and e-book databases. Free e-books, will help you to find free online resources for fulltext e-books. And Forms has various forms for METU Library services.
Access Journals Tab, will help you to find articles via e-journals and online databases. There is also two sub-tabs under here. Under Print Journals, there is a whole list of METU Library print journals about economics. Print journals search engine ready to use. E-Journals includes links to online databases and e-journals. It is also possible to use METUnique Search.
Access Reference Tab, will help you to find reference resources and tools for writing a paper. There are also some print reference materials, aswell.
Access Dissertations Tab, has a whole list of METU Thesis in Economics area. You can also search ProQuest database and retrieve the open-access thesis.
Access Web Sites Tab, will inform you which sites are lead in the fields of economics. There are also links for METU Economics Department and the research groups.
Open Access Tab, is giving the general idea of open access. There are two sub-tabs explaining benefits of open-access and author rights.
IGI GLOBAL InfoSci
Economic growth has stalled. Let's fix it. by Dambisa Moyo
Definition of Economics
Economics is the study of how people choose to use resources.
Resources include the time and talent people have available, the land, buildings, equipment, and other tools on hand, and the knowledge of how to combine them to create useful products and services.
Important choices involve how much time to devote to work, to school, and to leisure, how much money to spend and how much to save, how to combine resources to produce goods and services, and how to vote and shape the level of taxes and the role of government.
Often, people appear to use their resources to improve their well-being. Well-being includes the satisfaction people gain from the products and services they choose to consume, from their time spent in leisure and with family and community as well as in jobs, and the security and services provided by effective governments. Sometimes, however, people appear to use their resources in ways that don't improve their well-being.
In short, economics includes the study of labor, land, and investments, of money, income, and production, and of taxes and government expenditures. Economists seek to measure well-being, to learn how well-being may increase over time, and to evaluate the well-being of the rich and the poor.
Although the behavior of individuals is important, economics also addresses the collective behavior of businesses and industries, governments and countries, and the globe as a whole. Microeconomics starts by thinking about how individuals make decisions. Macroeconomics considers aggregate outcomes. The two points of view are essential in understanding most economic phenomena.
Subject Categories of Economics
- General Economics
- History of Economic Thought, Methodology, and Heterodox Approaches
- Mathematical and Quantitative Methods
- Macroeconomics and Monetary Economics
- International Economics
- Financial Economics
- Public Economics
- Health, Education, and Welfare
- Labor and Demographic Economics
- Law and Economics
- Industrial Organization
- Business Administration and Business Economics; Marketing; Accounting
- Economic History
- Economic Development, Technological Change, and Growth
- Economic Systems
- Agricultural and Natural Resource Economics; Environmental and Ecological Economics
- Urban, Rural, and Regional Economics